Is FaceTime Real Face-to-Face time?

            I think I remember the day my family got a computer. It was a boring beige color, large, and boxy.   My two older sisters would play games on it that I was too young to figure out how to do myself, but I loved watching them play anyways. One day, my dad was setting up emails for all of us through AOL, we decided on purplezebra6 for my account name, for the obvious reasons that my favorite color is purple, my favorite animal is a zebra, and I was six at the time. A couple of years went by, and I would send little emails to my little friends, and I remember it being all so exciting.

            Fast-forward some time, I remember my oldest sister, who is seven years older than me, typing away vigorously to her friends through the computer. I always thought that that was the coolest thing ever, probably because she was fifteen years old and virtually anything she did was the coolest thing ever. It was until I was about twelve or thirteen years old that I finally got my first AIM (AOL Instant Messager) account, coolilzebra, that I encountered the challenges of communicating through a screen.

            I’ve always been a very sarcastic person, which most of the time is completely noticeable when I’m talking to someone, but over the Internet, all text has the almost the same inflection (I say almost because ALL CAPITALS TENDS TO MEAN YELLING while italics make it seem like what you’re saying is extra special). Van Dijk wrote about this idea, saying that although new media may try to be just as efficient or as similar to face-to-face communication, it still has not been able to fully recreate in-person communication.iPhone-4-Facetime1

            Personally, the closest I think new media technology has gotten to mimicking face-to-face communication is through FaceTime on the iPhone, although I do not think that FaceTime allows to all types of in-person communication signals be seen, such as what a person is doing with their hands, how they are sitting or standing, etc.

            Do you think it will ever be possible for there to be a type of technology of new media that allows users to have the same type of satisfaction as face-to-face communication?  Do you think people nowadays prefer non-face-to-face communication, such as texting or phone calls? Why or why not?

3 comments

  1. I really like the questions you are asking. In my personal opinion, just looking at how far technology has evolved since I was a kid, I think that it is highly likely people will attempt to develop a more advanced technology that mimics real/live interaction with another person (other than face-time, Skype, etc). However, it’s also somewhat hard to imagine that any technology will measure as an equivalent to in-person contact. And for the second question, unfortunately, I think there are people who prefer non face-to-face communication. It’s something I would imagine to be for people who are more shy and introverted to rely on and I think that eventually it just takes over as their main level of communication.

    1. I 100% agree that there will be a new technology that will allows us to have more realistic live-action conversations, but I cannot even imagine what it would look like! I guess if you think back to what technology was like 30 years ago and compare to now, there’s honestly no way on guessing how much we will progress.

      In response to that some people prefer non-face-to-face, I think that yes, it is unfortunate for people who soley choose so because of laziness, disrespect, etc., but on the other hand, it opens up possibilities for people who don’t have the ability to go out into the world and have conversations, such as people who are bedridden, or people with severe anxiety.

Leave a Reply

