Typing my first A,B,C &D

When I was in Kindergarden, I recall my teacher writing on the chalkboard that from 12:30-1:30 p.m. we would be going to the computer lab. I remember putting my crayons down and walking to the computer lab in order to catch a glimpse of the huge Apple MacBooks. The room was a whole new world to me. I could spend time pulling up any kid friendly game such as “Super Munchers”, “Jumpstart”, “Oregon Trail” and other art and craft computer games. I could literally go from coloring with crayons to clicking on a mouse that could essentially draw the exact same thing! It was unbelievable. The computer lab was one of my favorite classes because I had the freedom to draw, solve math problems or type a story. The computer was endless and the world (in the mind of a five year old) was at my finger steps! This was my first experience discovering new media. I learned the types of data, one of the levels of integration. Shortly after I learned how to operate a computer, I would go home and my mom would allow me and my sister to play educational games such as Jump Start or Carmen Sandiego. We would have all the cd’s in a plastic case and could pull one out whenever we felt like going on a math adventure. I was not allowed to have access to the internet until I was in fourth grade with my mother overseeing the sites I went to. Over the years, the computers changed and so did my understanding of the computer. Computers became smaller and smaller and I could have the ability to carry a computer around with me (a laptop). I could have access to see how the NasDaq was doing while looking up a review for a movie. Time was in my hands. I feel that growing up with a computer and my understanding of new media have an impact of the person I have become. I feel that my capabilities to learn things and the speed at which I learn it has expounded exponentially. At the same time, I would have been fine if I never learned about the computer or New Media. I use the computer to my advantage, I don’t let it use me. That is something that I feel most people my age don’t have in common with me. The computer and New Media are astounding and have changed the world, but I make sure it doesn’t change me.

 

macs         1990s_geniuses_sleeves_for_macbook_air-r5815ada2055b421a9192702fc8105260_20w95_8byvr_324

One comment

  1. Your post brought me back to a similar place and age. I remember having typing and computer usage classes around the same age as you did. I was also fortunate enough to have Carmen Sandiego to play after a long day of school. It truly is amazing how quickly our society has adapted to using the web and computers in our everyday life. It impresses me that you do not feel that technology has taken over your life because I feel that it strongly has mine. I rarely go anywhere without my phone. I panic if I see the battery percentage getting into the 30% range. Now this doesn’t mean I am on my mobil 24/7, it just means I rely on it for moments when I am riding the shuttle, bored, or feeling awkward.

    I know I can survive without the use of the internet because last semester I studied abroad in Rome and other than a few wi-fi hotspots I never had web usage. The experience was liberating. I didn’t have to worry about responding to people, Facebook updates, Instagram likes, or any other updates constantly being sent to my phone. I truly grasped the feeling of being foreign because I didn’t have the ability to escape the physical world into my electronic one. I can turn off these updates, but I feel that by doing so I could miss something important. Regardless, I related to your post, and I feel that whatever you are doing to distance yourself from being consumed with the web and electronics should continue. You never really realize what you’re missing going on around you if you can’t look up from a 5×2 in. screen.

Leave a Reply

