Consciously Tweeting

 

I agree with Carr, that our society  is over saturated with information and because of this, much of that information can get lost. Which is why I believe twitter can actually be useful to the general public.

My twitter career began as a Junior in High School purely as a time waster, and for the expression of my over dramatic teenage mood swings.  Today I still use twitter as a time waster sometimes, but in a must more productive way. The main reason I enjoy twitter is its philosophy of “short and sweet,” it gets straight to the point, which then gives you the ability to decide if you want to explore more on the subject. Twitter also became very helpful when I was a abroad, I kept me up to date on US News, sorority events, Loyola News, and even hometown gossip without feeling totally overwhelmed.

My feed on twitter is mostly filled with my friends, sorority sisters, fashion designers, fashion editors, and CNN (Have to have a little hard hitting news). One of the designers I follow (Who I actually interned for over the summer) tweeted a link to the NYTStyle article about the behind the scenes of her fashion show, which was very interesting and took me to many other NYFW articles and tweets. I started following NYTStyle and  Vanity Fair. I searched one of our article writers, Nicholas Carr. I found many tweets linking the article “Is Google Making Us Stupid?” Through NYTStyle I went to the New York Times twitter and found an interesting tweet that linked an article to the privacy of the iOS8. I composed my own thick tweets, adding those links in the hopes my followers will be as interested as I was.

Through my composition of thick tweets I finally felt like I was using Twitter in an adult, profession, productive way, instead of just writing any random thought that popped into my head. Dibbell says that the length of the tweet doesn’t matter, its the form of a tweet. Because of the 140 character limit, it makes tweeters much more attentive and aware of the organization and word choice they use to get ones point across.

My twitter is on Private, which lead me to attach screenshots of “thick tweets.”

IMG_5858IMG_5863IMG_5861IMG_5859

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. I agree with what you said about the 140 character limit. If we try to convey a message/idea through a tweet, the limit forces us to really think about what we are going to say.

    I also really liked your example where you mentioned how the fashion designer you were following kind of paved the way to NYTStyle’s Twitter (which directed you to an article from The New York Times). One of the reasons why Twitter works so well is that it is a easy way to share and discover new ideas and I think your tweets show how accessible and informative Twitter can be if used correctly.

Leave a Reply

