#Hashtag

I have always been fond of Twitter. I made my twitter in my junior year of high school. I was pressured into making a Facebook when the hype of MySpace died down, and I never really enjoyed using it and I rarely ever posted. One of my close friends introduced me to Twitter when she was reading tweets from a parody account. I remember hysterically laughing and immediately wanting to make an account so that I could follow more accounts.

I made a Twitter and I was lost. I did not understand how to use the hashtag and what the purpose even was. I was just so mind-blown by the fact that I was able to follow my favorite music artists and authors to see what they were up to and what kind of inspirational posts they had to share with the world.

I currently have been really interested in learning about ISIS and what is happening in Syria and obviously, American journalists and Syrian victims. I follow a lot of foreign correspondents on Twitter and I think it’s really beneficial because I feel like I’m getting a lot more info, that is much more honest than I am when I watch the news. I think a lot of people think that it’s crazy that I trust people on Twitter over the internet but my question to them is, how can you decide who has more credibility when we are constantly lied to by the media?

Over the summer I went on a trip across Europe and I used twitter all of two times in a month. I had the ability because of wifi and hotspots but I was too busy exploring and when I got home I’d be so tired that I wouldn’t have the energy to check my social media. This made a big impact on me because prior to this, I would be very active on Twitter, as it was my second favorite form of social media, following Tumblr, and I would post on average about 3 thin tweets a day. Now, I just scroll through my feed and if I see an interesting BuzzFeed or UpWorthy article, I’ll retweet it or favorite it. Sometimes it gets really difficult because I start getting bored easily throughout an article and I constantly tell myself, “Oh I can just come back to this.” I could really relate to Nicholas in his article “Is Google Making Us Stupid?”when he said “My mind now expects to take in information the way the Net distributes it: in a swiftly moving stream of particles. Once I was a scuba diver in the sea of words. Now I zip along the surface like a guy on a Jet Ski.” I would be really interested in knowing if the internet has had the opposite effect on people and if it makes them read much more closely and absorb everything?

I hardly ever make my own tweets because I’ve developed a new mentality that I only speak (tweet in this case) if what I have to say will improve the silence.

Juna Skrami

Leave a Reply

