I Do Not Care About Your Bagel

I had a Twitter account once. I deleted it after I failed to use it more than about three times.  To me, twitter was always this strange anomaly that I could not quite get my head around. Who cared if Karen wanted to go to Taco Bell? I am not that concerned that Kevin just hate a bagel.  When ever I went on Twitter it seemed that people only updated the world on what they ate in the past five minutes, which was… annoying.  Perhaps I was just younger and my peers that I followed didn’t have anything truly meaningful or influential to say at the time but upon looking at it further for this assignment it was crazy to see how much my perceptions changed.

I followed some very interesting accounts on Twitter, ones that I did not even know existed.  I learned that some bands that I listen to have new albums coming soon (always a very good thing to realize) and I actually thought about keeping a Twitter account.  Using Twitter, I was able to look at Tweet from the New York Times talking about my favorite band’s new album coming out (on my birthday so I think they did it for me) and then was able to connect back to the band and those people who follow me.

I think the readings for the weeks accurately displayed my hesitation towards Twitter in the very beginning. This difference of “thick” and “thin” Tweets is exactly what I was witnessing, and to be honest getting annoyed with.  The original Tweets had no substance. They were flat, bland, boring and really only pertained to one person, the author of the Tweet.  In contrast, when I Tweeted (not trying to toot my own horn) I was able to include layers of information.  The reader could see that The New York Times published and album review and could then go to The New York Time’s Twitter account.  Then they could see that the album was by the band alt-J and could then click on their account and visit their page.  The Tweet gave information that could appeal to a large amount of people and could be followed up in two different sources.

2 comments

  1. I never really thought about thick or thin tweets before this assignment. There are always going to be those tweets that are just like “I ate a bagel today” but it is fascinating to think of how many layers of information can be included in one 140-character limited tweet.

    It goes to show that even with thin tweets lurking around, Twitter can still be a great source of sharing and receiving information. I think your example really exemplified this idea as well. You shared The New York Times’ review of the alt-J album and when your followers see this tweet, they can receive information about a band & album they might not have listened to if it weren’t for your tweet.

  2. I am definitely not an avid Twitter user (even though I’ve had my account for more than 2 years). But I have to agree that Twitter is what you make of it. If you’re posting thin Tweets and following friends or public figures that do the same, then it’s not going to be worth it. Like you said, people don’t care about what others had for lunch or the fact that they’re going for a run. It’s spreading information like innovative news articles or exciting announcements from your favorite celebrity that make Twitter worth our time. Twitter is probably one of the better examples of how new media is pulled rather than pushed.

Leave a Reply

