New Age Reading

Now, I can’t fully attest to the pre-tech era we have today being a 90’s kid. What I can say is for the short amount of time I have been alive and using the Internet it has grown up a lot more than I have. As a kid, doing homework and working on projects meant using the assigned text or going to the school library to find resources, which was half of the work. Even then my generation has it easy. I am not implying our work is any easier than that of our parents (personally I think more is expected of us because of technology). I believe a lot of that knowledge we would gain going to the library and digging through books is now lost in translation with the existence of technology. We need to take a step back before books are a thing of the past.

 

With that being said, the same thing has happened since the creation of Twitter. The world we live in today is all about instant gratification. With the need for instant information we often only scrape the surface of articles. Information is then lost in translation. Personally I find myself only skimming through internet articles, where as a book or even a magazine I sit down and take the time to read them. This could also be attributed to the easily accessible articles the Internet provides. With the information readily available at our fingertips do we really need to read it? I can totally relate with this observation Nicholas Carr talks about in “ Is Google Making Us Stupid?” Here he talks about his experience reading online “Now my concentration often starts to drift after two or three pages. I get fidgety, lose the thread, and begin looking for something else to do. I feel as if I’m always dragging my wayward brain back to the text. The deep reading that used to come naturally has become a struggle.”

 

The transition from books to technology is pretty scary. Will this lead to a dumbed down future, or will we use this to our advantage? In the age of Twitter and instant gratification the way we read and even the way we think is changing. For me personally I still prefer a hard copy to digital and that connection you get actually holding a book or magazine.

 

Written by: Colin McCall

Leave a Reply

