The Importance of Twitter…Besides Letting Us Know What You Had For Lunch

I don’t understand Twitter. A lot of my friends Tweet 5,000 times a day (that may or may not be an exaggeration) and I simply don’t know what they really have to say that they want to share with the world. Whenever something funny or weird happens to me, I’ll text someone, like my boyfriend, my best friend, or my mom. The few tweets that I have tweeted in the past are all really awkward and random (ex: “Why does my room smell like blueberry muffins?”), or random song lyrics that get stuck in my Screen Shot 2014-09-19 at 12.13.24 AMhead (ex: Say something you want me to believe, please show me something I can see). I have 110 followers, which I’m proud of, considering I barely know how to navigate social media platform.

In Dibbel’s article, he questions the importance of Twitter, and what overarching, unseen benefits Twitter could have to us as a society. Obviously, people sending out Tweets regarding what they had for lunch isn’t very productive to society, and neither is letting us know that they now have some really bad heartburn, but that same person live-tweeting that they are witnessing a plane crash into the Hudson River, or seeing a young, unarmed black man get shot by a police officer is productive and relevant to society. In the article, “Why You Should Care About Twitter,” written by Alyson Shontell, the most important feature of Twitter (in my opinion) was that “Twitter is the fastest way to spread thoughts… The kind of thoughts that have global impacts.” I think that is the importance of Twitter. Twitter allows people to live-tweet real life events, in real-time as they unfold, and also lets users “hashtag” what is unfolding in front of them.

The “thick-tweets” that I posted tonight aren’t relevant to society, and I know that. But let’s say I was a witness to a cop racially profiling a person while I was on my way to work, or I saw some crime committed– Tweeting about it would definitely be beneficial to society to raise awareness, or to serve as some type of evidence for a jury.

Do you think that Twitter has bigger implications and importance in society than we even realize? How could Twitter be used in a way that benefits society?

How do you think a crime, such as the Trayvon Martin shooting, would have been handled differently in court if there were live-action Tweets from the moments he was shot?

Leave a Reply

