Three cheers (or favorites) for twitter!

Twitter is my social media of choice and has been since I was 17. Facebook is fine for it’s purposes but I always thought the concept of Facebook status’ was extremely agressive and wasn’t anything I was interested in. Then twitter walked into my life. I’ve always loved writing and am the first person to say I have an opinion on just about everything. Twitter gave me that outlet that I needed to express myself and connect with others that wasn’t an overbearing feed such as facebook that cried for attention. I like having a place to share pieces of my life, my interests etc. , that’s not seeking “likes” or welcoming responses from my 900+ friends. Twitter is a little haven. I use twitter multiple times a day to connect with brands, read the news, see photos, and joke with friends. It’s a social media tool that I feel like people either completely love or don’t understand, it can be used for so much. My #comm200 tweets reflected two topics I was discussing among friends today and I thought I would share. The first has to do with one of my favorite fitness brands that, I learned through twitter, has taken huge steps to revamp their campaign this fall. Under Armour’s “I Will What I Want” campaign features intense ads of famous women in athletics (this also includes ballerinas and models who practice extreme training) and their determination. As an advertising major, this campaign inspires me. It’s something I want to share with others and twitter gives me that outlet.

My second tweet was a quoted retweet from The Skimm, my favorite email based news source. It streamlines news in a daily email to keep things simple and keeps me updated on what’s going on in the world. I’m all about Skimm, I think it’s an extremely useful resource, and I hope my twitter followers see it as the same.

At the end of the day, twitter is a key component in navigating and ruling social media today.

Leave a Reply

