Tweet, Tweedle-dee

After being pressured by my roommate at the beginning of my freshman year to create an account, I’ve now had a Twitter for just over two years. I tend to think of it as an online journal; it’s useful for posting random thoughts, stalking celebrities, and pretending follower’s care about my oh so “thought provoking” tweets…

Screen shot 2014-09-18 at 11.27.09 PM

Can’t forget about those inspiring retweets…

Screen shot 2014-09-18 at 11.13.02 PM

These are two of the more ridiculous examples of how I utilize Twitter. There are so many other ways it can be used. I should mention that I do post the occasional “thick tweet”, and I can recognize the fact that the site is not just an online journal. It can also represent a way for people to connect, in 140 characters or less, helping achieve the ultimate goal of spreading insightful information faster.

I should note that one of the two thick tweets that I posted actually got noticed by one of my favorite bloggers. It is interesting how such a small acknowledgment (a retweet) by a specific person can create such excitement. Maybe I’m just a dork, but I love the aspect of Twitter that allows me to connect with or get noticed by someone, whom I greatly admire for their work.

Screen shot 2014-09-19 at 12.43.11 PM

After reading the article, “Dual Perspectives,” I think it’s safe to say that there is no right or wrong way to use Twitter. I would have to agree with the idea that, “by forcing users to commit their thinking to the bite-size form of the public tweet, Twitter may be giving a powerfully productive new life to a hitherto underexploited quantum of thought: The random, fleeting observation” (Dibbell). Personally, I enjoy reading through the observations of the numerous people I follow. There are several times when I will read something and become captivated by a new thought. Screen shot 2014-09-19 at 12.11.46 AM

However, before creating a Twitter account I will admit that I was somewhat skeptical of whether or not it was going to be at all beneficial to participate in this branch of social media. What could I possibly contribute that would prompt another user to “follow” me? Was this going to change my previous opinions of social media in any way? Initially, I didn’t think it would, but since then my outlook has changed quite drastically. I often find myself going to check Twitter before any other site when there is something big going on in the numerous realms of society. Typically, I find thick tweets that offer links, further providing me with direct access to more complex details of an event, image, story, etc. Ultimately, I agree with the idea behind Twitter and I like the fact that it doesn’t have just one purpose; instead, it is what an individual makes it out to be for his/herself.

Questions:

1) Would you say that Twitter is improving the connections people have with one another?

2) Do you think that Twitter is a useful addition to the social media sites a person associates with?

-Madison Rau

One comment

  1. I, myself, do not use Twitter very frequently. However, I think that it does improve connections between people. Think of all of the people you know who have been addressed by celebrities on Twitter. Would that contact have been made without this social media site?

Leave a Reply

