#Twitter

I remember being a freshman in high school and being obsessed with making random status updates on my Facebook wall. It seemed to be the norm that everyone kept each other in the know by posting Facebook status updates. However, when Twitter came about these Facebook statuses became extinct. Within 140 characters I can send a message to my friends and followers about what I am doing, how I am feeling, or quote an inside joke. Twitter allows me to simplify my life and situations without risking the internal debate of feeling obnoxious and clogging up peoples Facebook home screens with posts such as this.

FullSizeRender

Through Twitter I can feel connected with celebrities, global and local news, and most importantly my friends. Twitter helped keep me involved in the lives of those I love while I was abroad last semester. Being seven hours ahead of the US while studying in Rome made communicating difficult with everyone back home. But it was nice to know that every morning I could feel a little more comfortable and at home in this foreign country by quickly glancing over my Twitter feed and see what all my friends were doing or talking about.

 

The hash-tag wasn’t used on Twitter until a year after I made my account. At first I was skeptical and unsure as to how to use it; but, I quickly grew accustomed to seeing it used and made up my own interpretation as to when it was appropriate to add in a tweet. I remember telling one of my high school teachers that hash-tags are a type of summary to the message you are writing. However, hash-tags can be used also as a way of connecting to others or causing connections to other threads. For example our #comm200 thread links our class and other people using that hash-tag to each other. By clicking on that blue hash-tag we can see what other people have tweeted about who have also used the same tag.

 

Twitter is a way for me to vent, share, explore, and update myself in 140 characters or less.

 

Jen Steichen

https://www.facebook.com/jen.steichen.9 (picture)

One comment

  1. I agree that is really comforting being on the other side of the world and being able to check my newsfeed. I think it’s really interesting that we’ve made a shift from Facebook to Twitter because I definitely agree that Twitter has facilitated communicating through social media. I’m interested to see what will come after the excitement of Twitter dies down.

Leave a Reply

