Tweet Tweet

Since joining Twitter in 2011, I’ve tweeted almost 6,000 times. Usually, my tweets consist of silly pictures, random thoughts, and the occasional horoscope retweet – never anything important or serious. For example…
Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 8.01.53 PM
It’s obvious that I don’t put much thought into my tweets and creating a “thick tweet” had never even crossed my mind. While writing my thick tweets, it was a struggle to fit the entirety of my message into only 140 characters. It was also difficult to find the RIGHT content to post. I wanted something that represented who I am, but also something that my followers would be interested in. For my first tweet, I posted a link to a quirky article about Mondays.
Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 7.35.13 PM
Today being Monday, I figured the content would be relevant and the title would be enough to make my followers want to click the link. My second tweet was a link to a blog post and playlist. Again, I felt that it caught the reader’s attention with it’s play on words.
Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 7.34.25 PM
In both of my thick tweets, the content was very accessible through the links. In today’s culture of constant media consumption, I like that information is so easy to attain information. Contrary to what Carr argues, I think it’s good that we have so much content at our fingertips. Instead of making us dumber, Twitter opens new realms of communication. It gives the user the opportunity to share bite size thoughts quickly and efficiently. Dibbell argues that Twitter is a more productive mode of communication, which I and probably most of my generation would agree to be true. As she points out, Twitter is a multi-faceted network that can be used to market oneself, connect with friends, stay updated with family, etc.

Leave a Reply

