The Downfall of Too Much Convenience

In the last ten years, the phenomena of text messaging has taken the world by storm. When I was in the fourth grade, I remember a friend of mine had just gotten her very first cell phone. I didn’t really know much about them, I would just play the game “Snake” on my moms Nokia.

Then, two years later, I received my very first cell phone. It was a pink Motorola Razr.I remember that my dad told me with my plan, I had 300 texts a month. To me, that was an obscene amount and I figured I was going to be fine. I was really surprised when the first phone bill came and I got a twenty-five minute lecture on my lack of responsibility. Eventually, “family plans” came out and my parents and I both had unlimited text messaging. This was like a whole new world for me.

Text messaging was the most addicting form of social media that I’ve ever encountered. Soon after, I got an iPhone and I began to iMessage.

imessage

I am still very much connected to people through means of text messaging. I am always near my phone and it’s very strange if I don’t respond to a text within an hour. I mean, who doesn’t check their phone at least once an hour? Through a Utopian viewpoint, I clearly can see why text messaging is wonderful and how it has brought so many people together. Coming from an international family, I love that iMessage has made it possible for me to be able to talk to my cousins/aunts/uncles etc. on a daily basis without fearing my monthly bill.

Unfortunately, I think that the availability of being able to text message at any given moment, is a disadvantage. Every single day, someone dies due to an accident caused by text messaging. Some people, cause deaths by sending texts while they drive, others cause accidents as they are walking through traffic with their eyes glued to their screens. I just don’t think the dangers that come from this convenience, are worth it. The amount of people that are dying is not worth the easy access of communication, is it?

Along with that, I also think that the need for human contact is slowly diminishing. We no longer ask for people’s number with the intent of calling them. We send them texts and quite frankly, it’s become rather weird for someone to call you solely just to have a conversation. I think we lean on technology and it is impairing our social skills out of the internet scene. For this reason I would have to agree with the Dystopian viewpoint.

One comment

  1. I agree that text messaging can be addicting and that it is often times easier to text than have a conversation with someone. It seems that face to face interactions are dying down.

Leave a Reply

